Best MotoGP Riders of all Time

Best MotoGP Riders of all Time

To talk about best MotoGP riders of all time is one of those unanswerable questions on which many people might not agree. Ever since world championship started in 1949, these are the heroes who have won the maximum number of wins under their belts in World Championship events. There were many in between whose career shortened due to injuries. Here we have listed the top 6 MotoGP riders all time. The list is based upon the number of victories the contestants achieved in their lifetime.

Mick Doohan – 54 wins

Micheal “Mick” Doohan is an Australian, former Grand Prix motorcycle road racing champion, who has 5 consecutive 500cc World Championships. He has overall 54 wins under his belt. He is one of those guys who has achieved more than his statistics suggest if he hadn’t gone through the injuries and spent much of his time against Rainey and Schwantz. Each of his 54 wins is on a 500cc motorcycle, which has helped him to take the sixth place.

Jorge Lorenzo – 60 Wins and Still Counting

This 28 years old Spanish Motorcycle road racer is one of those racers who will rank higher on the list by the time he retires. We can easily understand the number of victories could have been much more if he did not have to fight with the likes of Rossi and Marquez. Out of his 60 wins, 38 are in MotoGP that makes him fifth in the list. Presently, he competes in MotoGP class and rides for Movistar Yamaha. He is the 2006 and 2007 250cc world champion and 2011, 2012 and 2015 MotoGP world Champion.

 Mike Hailwood – 76 Wins

Jorge Lorenzo still needs to do some work to go ahead of Mike Hailwood in this ladder because of his 76 wins. Mike Hailwood was a British Grand Prix motorcycle road racer, known for ability on bikes with a range of engine capacities. He is one of the few men to compete at Grand Prix level in both motorcycle and car racing.  Out of his 76 victories, 37 are in the 500cc category. On 23rd March 1981 he died due to road accident in Warwickshire.

Angel Nieto – 90 wins

This might create some debate, why Nieto is ranked at third position as most of his victories are on smaller displacement machines such as 50cc, 80cc and 125cc and never had any win in 250cc. But one cannot argue with the fact that he has 90 wins under his belt. The guy has won 13 championships in his international career of 22 years. With 90 wins, he is ranked at the third position in the best GP riders ever.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *